• Tokyo : 06:45
  • |
  • Singapore : 05:45
  • |
  • Dubai : 01:45
  • |
  • London : 22:45
  • |
  • New York : 17:45
  • |
  • Sydney : 08:45

What Is Climate Literacy And Its Importance In Corporate Firms?

Aug 20, 2022


Climate change is one of the key environmental challenges faced by society. To address this issue, a significant change in the values and perspectives is required among the government and people. A strong education is essential to help people be aware of and address the impacts of the climate crisis. Skills, knowledge, and attitude are potent weapons in humanity's arsenal to win this battle of the climate crisis.

Changes in the worldwide climate situation are more noticeable than at any other time, and the impacts of climate change on the environment have become progressively evident. From the shrinking of glaciers and ice caps to seething rapidly spreading fires, from raised ocean levels to expanded greenhouse gas in the air - the byproducts of environmental change and global warming have turned into serious danger to earth's ecology.

The international community perceives the significance of education and training to address environmental change. The UN Framework Convention on Climate Change, the Paris Agreement, and the associated Action for Climate Empowerment (ACE) agenda call on governments to educate, instruct, engage and connect all stakeholders on policies relating to climate change.

What Is Climate Literacy?

Climate literacy revolves around a comprehensive understanding of climate, the ongoing climate fiasco, and its impact on society and its environmental elements. It additionally includes abilities to deploy scientifically credible knowledge and data on the environment. Moreover, a climate literate person can impart and disseminate information about climate and different properties of environmental change, which thus helps in educating more people. In addition, climate literacy allows an individual to make more dependable and climate-friendly decisions.

Importance Of Climate Literacy

Human-induced reasons are the primary force behind the rapid climatic changes worldwide. More than 130 nations are planning for net-zero carbon emissions by 2050. Technological developments will be essential to arrive at this objective, but achieving and sustaining net zero also requires figuring out how to live on this planet as the environment quickly changes — and education is a vital enabler of this transition.

Climate change is a cross-disciplinary subject with logical, anthropogenic, and cultural components. Therefore, climate literacy can set out more than adequate job opportunities and build a green consumer market that can open roads for the citizens to team up with their respective governments to diminish the climate crisis.

Climate Literacy In Corporate Businesses Transformation

Climate strategies are progressively fundamental to business plans. A 2021 Energy and Climate Intelligence Unit report reveals that 21% of the world's main 2,000 public organizations have promised to attain net zero targets. However, setting strategies is just essential for the situation. Everyday choices and activities must step up to a similar ultimate objective. With that in mind, spearheading businesses are now leading a charge for employee climate literacy.

As an ever-increasing number of companies globally understand that a decreased carbon footprint is the way to a fruitful, greener future, climate literacy training has been pushed to the front of the battle against environmental change.

Corporate businesses have now started thinking seriously about reducing carbon footprint yet; many raise worries about the expense of embracing greener choices, be it sustainable power, electric vehicles, or zero carbon buildings.

According to Mr. Basem Barry, founder & CEO of the B A Barry Group, climate literacy training should be viewed as a lifesaver. Those businesses that have this training comprehend the effect they have on the planet and have the information and abilities that permit them to diminish their carbon footprint by up to 15%. Above all, people now understand that not acting at present will lead to substantial future costs.

It has been found that 70% of people now prefer to work for a company having a robust environmental agenda. The more youthful people anticipate that their employer should have a sustainability strategy and need to be engaged with driving positive change.

Here at the B A Barry Group, we believe that organizations need to work towards changing before they are compelled to do as such. The Government's attention on sustainability is simply going to increase over the course of the next decade, and the organizations settling on the ideal choices and speculations today will be best positioned to receive the rewards of the upcoming greener landscape.

Featured Clients

Our Associations

Copyright © 2022 - B A Barry. All Rights Reserved.